Uncategorized

Why becoming Vegan was the best decision ever

“Vegan? So you eat what they had in the garden of Eden?” LOL this was probably one of the funniest comments I got when I told those close to me that I decided to be vegan. Over the years I was put on multiple diet plans to health improve my health. The diets I would be put on would work for a short period of time, but then my body would become immune to it and I would have to change. Since Lupus is an autoimmune disorder, I’ve always had to be careful about what I put in and on my body. From the beginning my doctor told me that I had to stop eating certain foods to get my health under control. Needless to say, I was pissed lol. No more pasta, fried foods, no sweets, no NOTHING! Even with all those changes I still noticed that I would be sick after eating certain foods. So during my third year in college I decided to become vegetarian. I did my research and found all the benefits of the lifestyle. Again, I noticed how my body reacted to it and how I started to feel better but still not where I wanted to be health wise. I did that for two years and decided to take it a step further and become vegan. I did more research on countries that don’t eat meat or any animal products. I saw how their bone health was muchbetter than individuals that drink cows milk, along with many other interesting findings. Since I’ve been vegan (May 2013) I have dropped 30 pounds, my skin is clearer, I have less frequent flairs, more energy, and I take less medication (Thank GOD). There are many benefits to going vegan. I know many individuals say they can’t do it because they just don’t want to give up meat. I didn’t think I could do it in the beginning because I love cheese too much, but when it comes to my health I will do anything. I will go into more detail later of everything I eat and how I prepare my meals. Also how a Raw Vegan diet is even better (I’ll save that for another post as well). IMG_3239

Standard

Leave a Reply

