Uncategorized

Hair and LUPUS

Hair loss!! Not something anyone enjoys going through, but it happens to the best of us. The best way to think about hair growth is to picture a garden. How well it grows is completely a result of what is happening “underground.” Hair loss can be a sign of many things like stress, sickness, ageing, and lack of nutrition. Not only does what you put on your hair contribute, but also what goes inside your body. Whatever goes into the mouth enters the blood steam, proceeding to travel throughout the body.

Lupus can cause hair loss through widespread inflammation that usually involves your skin, particularly on your face and scalp. Lupus can cause the hair on your scalp to gradually thin out, although a few people lose clumps of hair. Loss of eyebrow, eyelash, beard and body hair also is possible. Hair can and will grow back, in a different texture.

Throughout my journey I’ve experienced MANY ups and downs with my hair and skin. Just when I thought I was all-good, here comes the skin rashes. Or large clumps of hair proceed to fall out. It has been very stressful and emotionally draining to go though it without any sign of it coming. Just this year, I was celebrating my one-year anniversary of having locs (dreadlocks). Literally one month later, scabs began to form on my scalp and hair started falling out. For as long as I could stand it, I kept my locs until one day half of the hair all fell out at one time. In tears, I decided to cut the rest of the hair off. I didn’t want to walk around with a low hair cut in fear of constantly getting questions of why my hair was gone. I thought I looked sick and unattractive. I thought people would judged in the worse way. Turns out I was wrong. Everyone loves my hair cut, even when I don’t. I receive more complements on the short hair then any hairstyle I’ve ever worn. Now that I’ve come to accept my hair, I love it. It really defines not just me but my journey.
As far as routine for my hair, I really don’t have one. I do have a few favorite products that have really helped along the way. So I’ll start at the beginning with shampoo which is:

Avalon Organics Shampoo, http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0016BC2BM/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o03_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1.

It has really helped my hair to become stronger and thicker. I had a few bald patches when my hair originally started falling out; this helped to grow back all the hair in those spots. The bottle says to use everyday; I use it three to five times a week. I only use leave in conditioners (some I make myself), because the other stuff is just way too heavy. Something that I love and use about once a week is

Jamaican Castor Oil, http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B003CTTZQQ/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o05_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1.

It works really well to keep my scalp from drying up and holds the moisture in better than any other product I’ve used. It works better if mixed with other oils (grape seed, olive, coconut) and placed directly on the scalp, otherwise; it will be way too heavy (at least for my hair it was). Other conditioners I mostly use avocado oil, olive oil, and tea tree oil (sometimes I mix them together). I use these oils every time I wash my hair. Find what works and stick with it, which is the best thing for anyone.

Standard

7 thoughts on “Hair and LUPUS

  1. Thanks for the info, my daughter has lupus and we are both natural and are always looking for a good combination that will keep her hair moisterized.

    Btw..naturalista is awesome, you should order from Her for your moisture, she has her own natural hair products…omg. sorry to say once you order you will be hooked.

Leave a Reply

