health and wellness, lupus, Uncategorized

Wellness Wednesday: popcorn alternative

 

If you’ve been following me for any length of time you know I LOVE FOOD! During my transition from the American standard diet to a plant based diet, I learned more about so many different foods and spices that I never tried before. One of my favorite things to do is to snack throughout the day. My go to would always be popcorn. Just about everyday I would make stove top popcorn and season it with salt, turmeric, and cayenne pepper. Well also during my transition I learned more about the food industry and what they were really doing with our food. The chemicals used to grow our food, and the effects it was having on our bodies. About 95% of the corn grown in the United States is GMO. If you’re not hip to what GMO is, it’s basically the scientist the work in the food industry modify the structure of a plant/food to allow it to grow faster without spending less month. In turn its taking away the nutritional value of that plant as well as causing hormonal imbalance in our bodies. After finding this out, I cut back on my popcorn intake and eventually let it all go completely. Knowing that information didn’t take away my love for popcorn though, so I needed to find an alternative FAST! I started researching and found that amaranth was a great go to.

What is amaranth you say!? It is an ancient grain found in Mexico. It’s a little tiny seed whose plant can produce up to 60,000 seeds alone. It’s packed with a long list of vitamins and nutrients like iron, calcium, amino acids, and so much more. To read up on more about Amaranth, check out my last blog here.

So when I first tried amaranth, I fell in love. The taste is amazing and very similar to popcorn. The only draw back is they are so small, but it’s worth it. I still use the same seasons as before and I feel like I’ve never left. So if you’re a popcorn lover like I use to be, give amaranth a try. All you need is a hot pan and amaranth seeds (no oil required). Let me know what you think if you try it out. 😃

Standard

Leave a Reply

